Regarding Black History Month

For the past two years, I’ve decided to wile away the dark months of deep winter by diving into a personal learning project for Black History Month. Elsewhere known as February.

I light candles in the fireplace, grab a blanket, and plunge into books by African Americans on less celebrated aspects of American history. Because my syllabus contains some dense reading, I try to start in mid-January at Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday.

IMG_3276

Last year, I was enjoying myself so much that I extended my learning into March. Here’s what I read:

I brought my family along on the journey by watching these movies:

This year, my syllabus includes:

  • “Letter from a Birmingham Jail”, written by Martin Luther King, Jr. in 1963. My oldest daughter joined me in reading the letter in full on his birthday.
  • The Color of Compromise by historian Jemar Tisby, 2019. This historical survey explores the ways the white American church has been complicit in the oppression of Black Americans.
  • The Souls of Black Folk by W.E.B. DuBois, first published in 1903. I was taken by DuBois’ writing when I first encountered him in college, and I’ve always wanted to return to his work.

Movies we may watch as a family this year:

For those who’d like to include books on the family syllabus, here’s a list of good children’s books for Black History Month.

So, who’s in? Anyone want to join me this year?

P.S. The links above take you to copies of books that include audio versions. Listening to books is a valid a way to learn, too!

 

3 thoughts on “Regarding Black History Month

  1. chicagogirl23

    Happy New Year, Laura! Yay! I haven’t been receiving your posts lately.

    Despite all of the “stuff” going on in the world, I always remind myself that God is in control.

    I appreciate receiving this post. Hope you’re focusing on self-care and wellness in 2020. I know I am. It’s a great way to combat the oozing toxicity and vitriol.

    Thanks again for sending this.

    Glynda

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. Stephanie

    Thanks for the list of books. I went to the library right away to get some of these for my classroom. I’ll also be using the book “Young, Gifted and Black” too! Great resources!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment